EARLY MORNING HALF ASLEEP

May 30, 2011 § Leave a comment

  

This morning I slowly awoke to another little dreamlet— my cat was looking very human and was staring at me with an open faced smile. It got me to thinking about the disturbing photography of Duchenne de Boulogne (who I first learned about from the brilliant Katie Hornstein who was writing a paper about him when we were very tender undergrads) and the busts Franz Xaver Messerschmidt, who had a show at the Neue Gallery a couple of years ago now, that I’m really sad that I missed. They showed this pretty amazing video at the show… which led me back to my favorite Mary (McLeod) lecture on type and character (hence the Lequeu) and of Philippe Duboy’s assertion that Marcel Duchamp had invented the 18th c. Jean-Jacques Lequeu, inserting a fictional piece of France’s suppressed perversion into the national archives with the help of Georges Bataille… but I don’t know if even Duchamp could pull of the kind of genius drawn by Lequeu, then again it would be such a delicious coup for Bataille and Duchamp to plant such an amazing fiction.  ::END OF STREAM OF HISTORICAL CONSCIOUSNESS MISSIVE::

***by the way if anyone wants to be my secret benefactor Duboy’s Lequeu: An Architectural Enigma would be one of those perfect gifts.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading EARLY MORNING HALF ASLEEP at spargel&fraise.

meta

