Post Superbowl Buffalo salad

February 3, 2014 § Leave a comment

Image

I don’t know anything about football. O does, but we weren’t that excited about watching the Superbowl… except that during the half time show there was a flash of recognition as I studied Bruno Mars’ face… dude is Filipino… well, 1/4 Jewish, 1/4 Puerto Rican and 1/2 Filipino (so says Wikipedia). Anyway, there is one thing I LOVE about the Superbowl and that’s Buffalo wings, so I whipped up a small batch for our little Superbowl party of two. Now for anyone who’s ever made buffalo wings from scratch, you would know that the sauce is about 2/3 butter and 1/3 hotsauce. Because Whole Foods doesn’t sell Tabasco, I went for “Louisiana” hot sauce. The label reads “The Perfect Hotsauce… One Drop Does It!!” And it’s true!!! This stuff is seriously good—head and shoulders and waist above Tabasco. Anyway because of said hot sauce I made the best tasting batch of wings I ever did make in my life. But after the wings were tossed, I still had about a 1/3 of a cup of sauce left and I wouldn’t let it go to waste. One of my favorite pass times is to make up new dishes from all of the leftover crap in our refrigerator. We still had some blue cheese crumbles, arugula and celery, which I whipped into a salad. I poached two eggs and made a hollandaise with the remaining buffalo sauce (which would work, I guessed since it’s still mostly butter). And it worked, salad was like crack and lunch today was delicious. Amen.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Post Superbowl Buffalo salad at spargel&fraise.

meta

